Call: 0123456789 | Email:

Tag: 上海s2酒吧卡座价格

first_imgGuyana’s two major private sector bodies, the Private Sector Commission (PSC) and the Georgetown Chamber of Commerce and Industry (GCCI), are now going after each other following the appointment of Ms Allison Butters-Grant as the business representative on the University of Guyana Council.The Private Sector Commission, on Friday last, issued a statement expressing disappointment and dissatisfaction with the appointment of the businessGCCI President, Deodat Indarrepresentative on the Council of the University of Guyana. The PSC claimed receiving correspondence from the Education Ministry’s Permanent Secretary requesting a nominee to serve on the Council of the University of Guyana, and in response nominated the head of the Consultative Association of Guyanese Industry, Samuel Goolsarran, to sit on the new council.However, the PSC’s nominee was not so placed, the Education Ministry instead appointing Ms Butters-Grant as the business representative. The PSC is accordingly calling for this to be rectified forthwith.In response to this development, the GCCI on Monday said it wishes to publicly support the appointment of Ms Butters-Grant.“The GCCI has taken note of recent negative press regarding the appointment ofAllison Butters-GrantMs Butters-Grant to the University of Guyana Council. Ms Butters-Grant is the immediate past secretary of the Chamber, and has laboured for the chamber in this capacity, as well as (being) a past Councillor. She has served the Chamber in a positive way, and has distinguished herself as a member of the Chamber. As such, we have full confidence in her ability to discharge the duties of a Councillor of the University of Guyana,” the GCCI said in a statement.The University of Guyana Act 1963, Section 13, subsection 2 (j) speaks to ‘four (4) persons to be nominated by such non-governmental organisations as in the opinion of the Minister are most representative of the interests of Women, Farmers, Amerindians and Business. The GCCI said it was based on the current law that Education Minister Nicolette Henry saw Butters-Grant as fit to serve, and appointed her as the business community’s representative.“Hence the statement emanating from the Private Sector Commission (PSC) was unwarranted,” the GCCI statement concluded.Following that statement, the PSC issued another statement on Monday, saying it has since written Minister of State, Joseph Harmon, asking that the exclusion of its nominee be corrected.The PSC also expressed its concern publicly in a press release issued on March 9, 2018. The press release raised no objection to the nomination of any person onPSC Chairman Eddie Boyerthe Council, but emphasised disappointment that the PSC nominee had not been considered. It pointed out that this has been custom and practice over the last twenty-five years, and it is important that the business community’s voice be represented on the Council, as is required by the Constitution of the University. “The PSC stands by that position,” the statement read.The PSC additionally said it is unfortunate and regrettable that its statement was interpreted as an objection to any person on the University’s Council.last_img read more

first_imgLudhiana, Aug 15 (PTI) On the occasion of the 72nd Independence Day today, the Punjab government conferred state awards to 17 people for their outstanding contribution in various fields. The awardees included social activists, sports persons, progressive entrepreneurs and governmentofficials, who had made extraordinary efforts to achieve their respective targets besides playing a significant role in the social sector, an official statement said. Chief Minister Amarinder Singh conferred a certificate and cash award to Sahil Chopra of Patiala for clinching eight international and 13 national medals, respectively, in swimming. The second recipient, hearing and visually impaired Yashvir Goyal from Bathinda, excelled in badminton and chess games and brought laurels to the state by winning several medals in state and national badminton and chess championships, respectively, the statement said. District Programme Officer Tarn Taran Hardeep Kaur was honoured for her commendable services in ‘Beti Bachao-Beti Padhao’ campaign. With her strenuous efforts, the Tarn Taran has been enlisted among the three best districts in ‘impressive community’ category. Eliza Bansal of Lehragaga, Sangrur district, was rewarded for securing the first position in the AIIMS entrance examination. Her award was received by principal Pardeep Kumar on her behalf. Forest and Wildlife Security officer Davinder Singh received the award for discharging his duties with utmost dedication, devotion, passion and honesty, according to the statement. Industrialist Anil Bharti, who is president of the Swami Vivekanand Swaraj Ashram Trust, Ludhiana, was honoured for his exemplary social services. Shalma Sall of Payal sub-division was rewarded for successfully running a gaushala and looking after 33 cows having nil milk production.advertisement Rupinder Kaur, who is the president of Power House Youth Club, Patiala, was honoured for her social services and fight against social evils like drug consumption, female foeticide and dowry. Renowned industrialist Sanjiv Arora was honoured for serving cancer patients and ensuring free of cost treatment to more than 100 cancer patients of poor families since 2005. The chief minister also honoured Sukhpal Singh, sanitary inspector of the Nagar Council Ferozepur for effectively implementing the Swachh Bharat mission and constructing 1,270 toilets. Gobinder Sohal, who is an artist by profession from Patiala, was honoured for his rare paintings relating to religious and historic importance. Jasmeen Kaur of Bathinda, who won the gold medal in the international sub-junior Asian Powerlifting Championship 2018, and Husnpreet Kaur of Charri village, Fatehgarh Sahib, who secured silver and gold medals during fencing competitions in England in July this year, were also rewarded. Mumtaz, who clinched bronze in fencing championship in England was also honoured. The awardees also included Bahadur Singh of Bullowal Hoshiarpur for donating blood 44 times and working against drug abuse, Dr Rajnish Kapoor for his valuable services in the medical field in Patiala district, and DSP Gurjot Singh Klair for excelling in countering the cyber crime. PTI SUN HP AQSAQSlast_img read more